Riprock
    All-Star
    All-Star

Number of posts : 11867
    Favorite Team : Ottawa
    Registration date : 2008-08-05

Philosophy

Post by Riprock on Mon Sep 19, 2011 3:40 pm

I really had no idea what to name this thread, but I am hoping we can bounce ideas of one another, with anyone who may have any background in Philosophy, or even anyone who wishes to argue about certain issues.

Just to give some info, I have transferred to Carleton U and I am studying Philosophy, Public Affairs and Ethics in an honours concentration program.

I enjoy discussing and arguing things, but ancient philosophy I find really dry and boring. The way ti tis written gives me a headache and I want to fall asleep. I find Socrates argued just about anything and felt he was right all the time. I guess a lot of us can feel that way. But I imagine Socrates to be that old, dirty guy in a busy downtown metropolitan city rambling and causing a disturbance that you'd be likely to call a crazy, mentally ill person.

I get that there's no right or wrong answers in Philosophy, though everyone wants to believe their argument is right.

Anyone here study Philosophy? Anyone able to give me some pointers?
    asq2
    All-Star
    All-Star

Number of posts : 7179
    Favorite Team : Detroit

Re: Philosophy

Post by asq2 on Mon Sep 19, 2011 10:07 pm

I took courses where we studied Socrates but only through Plato (not really Xenophon; I did read The Clouds by Aristophanes but that's not a particularly accurate depiction). And some Neoplatonism.