BEST PHONE and PLAN IN YOUR OPINION

    Share
    avatar
    PTFlea
    Co-Founder
    Co-Founder

    Number of posts : 55270
    Favorite Team : Ottawa
    Registration date : 2008-07-31

    BEST PHONE and PLAN IN YOUR OPINION

    Post by PTFlea on Fri Sep 14, 2018 10:56 pm

    My phone just packed it in, so I need a new phone. I wasn't in a contract, so I'm free to choose any plan.

    I need 4GB of data at the bare minimum

    I'd like good storage space for apps, pics, book etc


    Don't want to pay too much over $100 a month - less if possible.

    Any ideas on the phone and plan that's best value?

    Thanks.

    DefenceWinsChampionships
    Veteran
    Veteran

    Number of posts : 2739
    Age : 88
    Location : Ottawa
    Favorite Team : Ottawa
    Registration date : 2011-05-23

    Re: BEST PHONE and PLAN IN YOUR OPINION

    Post by DefenceWinsChampionships on Sat Sep 15, 2018 12:36 am

    Buy a OnePlus. They're great. As for plans wait for a good promo
    avatar
    wprager
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Number of posts : 49355
    Age : 57
    Location : Kanata
    Favorite Team : Ottawa
    Registration date : 2008-08-05

    Re: BEST PHONE and PLAN IN YOUR OPINION

    Post by wprager on Sat Sep 15, 2018 7:53 am

    Best phone deal would be a Chinese one. I've bought Xiaomi in the past but not sure if they are still the best value.

    As for plans, move to Europe. Seriously though why do you need 4Gb? I take it you don't have internet at the store? Might be cheaper than a data plan.

    But if you're dead set on a mobile data plan then I'd check out Videotron. They are sort of new in Ontario and may have better deals. Just took a peak, 4+2 bonus premium plan is $68. You get a Samsung A8 and 6Gb data, unlimited calling/texting in Canada. Lots of other phones available, from $0 to lots more (fixed cost, the plan is still $68).

    Also some people will set you up on a Manitoba plan for around $100. Or you can do the legwork yourself. http://forums.redflagdeals.com/mb-sk-rogers-plans-ontario-1948745/


    _________________
    Hey, I don't have all the answers. In life, to be honest, I've failed as much as I have succeeded. But I love my wife. I love my life. And I wish you my kind of success.
    - Dicky Fox
    avatar
    PTFlea
    Co-Founder
    Co-Founder

    Number of posts : 55270
    Favorite Team : Ottawa
    Registration date : 2008-07-31

    Re: BEST PHONE and PLAN IN YOUR OPINION

    Post by PTFlea on Sat Sep 15, 2018 8:52 am

    I use it a lot when I'm out and about. I guess I don't need that much, but I've gone over before. I don't use it much at the store - and yes, we have wifi there.

    I'll let you know how it shakes out today.
    avatar
    wprager
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Number of posts : 49355
    Age : 57
    Location : Kanata
    Favorite Team : Ottawa
    Registration date : 2008-08-05

    Re: BEST PHONE and PLAN IN YOUR OPINION

    Post by wprager on Sat Sep 15, 2018 9:01 am

    I like Videotron. My parents had a great deal with them (in Quebec) paying $99 for hope phone, internet and cable. I read paying a lot more with Rogers/Bell. Then they were the first to offer true a la carte cable. There was a shoe I recommended tomy mom and she literally added just that one channel and it only took her a couple minutes by phone.

    Loooking now it appears they have better plans than the Big Three. 6Gb for $68 including a phone?


    _________________
    Hey, I don't have all the answers. In life, to be honest, I've failed as much as I have succeeded. But I love my wife. I love my life. And I wish you my kind of success.
    - Dicky Fox
    avatar
    PTFlea
    Co-Founder
    Co-Founder

    Number of posts : 55270
    Favorite Team : Ottawa
    Registration date : 2008-07-31

    Re: BEST PHONE and PLAN IN YOUR OPINION

    Post by PTFlea on Sat Sep 15, 2018 9:18 am

    wprager wrote:I like Videotron. My parents had a great deal with them (in Quebec) paying $99 for hope phone, internet and cable. I read paying a lot more with Rogers/Bell. Then they were the first to offer true a la carte cable. There was a shoe I recommended tomy mom and she literally added just that one channel and it only took her a couple minutes by phone.

    Loooking now it appears they have better plans than the Big Three. 6Gb for $68 including a phone?

    I find that hard to believe. 68 including a phone is a heck of a deal.
    avatar
    PTFlea
    Co-Founder
    Co-Founder

    Number of posts : 55270
    Favorite Team : Ottawa
    Registration date : 2008-07-31

    Re: BEST PHONE and PLAN IN YOUR OPINION

    Post by PTFlea on Sat Sep 15, 2018 6:31 pm

    Koodo offered my wife and I a Samsung 9 with 5GB etc for 80 a month, which I think is as good as I can get.
    avatar
    wprager
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Number of posts : 49355
    Age : 57
    Location : Kanata
    Favorite Team : Ottawa
    Registration date : 2008-08-05

    Re: BEST PHONE and PLAN IN YOUR OPINION

    Post by wprager on Sun Sep 16, 2018 11:34 am

    The price I quoted is straight from their website. Like I said, they are relatively new to Ontario and will likely have better deals. Koodoo was bought by Bell, I think. Nobody is independent anymore.

    Videotron also has a great deal for kids. $14/month including some data (but you need two adults on premium plans to get that).


    _________________
    Hey, I don't have all the answers. In life, to be honest, I've failed as much as I have succeeded. But I love my wife. I love my life. And I wish you my kind of success.
    - Dicky Fox
    avatar
    tim1_2
    Franchise Player
    Franchise Player

    Number of posts : 17175
    Age : 36
    Location : Ottawa
    Favorite Team : Ottawa
    Registration date : 2011-01-07

    Re: BEST PHONE and PLAN IN YOUR OPINION

    Post by tim1_2 on Mon Sep 17, 2018 8:18 am

    I never know about plans...I pay $50+tax per month to Virgin for unlimited talk/text and 2GB of data.

    As for phones, as DefenceWinsChampionships said, the OnePlus is a great value and a generally terrific phone.
    avatar
    wprager
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Number of posts : 49355
    Age : 57
    Location : Kanata
    Favorite Team : Ottawa
    Registration date : 2008-08-05

    Re: BEST PHONE and PLAN IN YOUR OPINION

    Post by wprager on Mon Sep 17, 2018 8:23 am

    OPO was a great value. I almost got one. The latest one is a little pricey.


    _________________
    Hey, I don't have all the answers. In life, to be honest, I've failed as much as I have succeeded. But I love my wife. I love my life. And I wish you my kind of success.
    - Dicky Fox
    avatar
    PTFlea
    Co-Founder
    Co-Founder

    Number of posts : 55270
    Favorite Team : Ottawa
    Registration date : 2008-07-31

    Re: BEST PHONE and PLAN IN YOUR OPINION

    Post by PTFlea on Mon Sep 17, 2018 3:55 pm

    Couldn't resist the Samsung S9 + 5GB + unlimited texting etc. for 80 a month.
    avatar
    wprager
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Number of posts : 49355
    Age : 57
    Location : Kanata
    Favorite Team : Ottawa
    Registration date : 2008-08-05

    Re: BEST PHONE and PLAN IN YOUR OPINION

    Post by wprager on Thu Sep 20, 2018 1:16 pm

    Virgin's $75 Diamond plan gets you 5G and unlimited Canada wide minutes with the S9. For $79 you get 8G.

    Or $200 up front and $69 gets you 8G as well. ($11 saved for 24 months is $264).


    _________________
    Hey, I don't have all the answers. In life, to be honest, I've failed as much as I have succeeded. But I love my wife. I love my life. And I wish you my kind of success.
    - Dicky Fox

    Sponsored content

    Re: BEST PHONE and PLAN IN YOUR OPINION

    Post by Sponsored content


      Current date/time is Sat Oct 20, 2018 8:30 pm