I figured there's a few of us (hockey dads/moms) on this board, so this is just a place to discuss the ins and outs of minor league hockey, commiserate on the losses, celebrate those secondary assists, ask questions about specific rules, complain about those pimply-faced 15-year-old refs you see chatting it up with the othere team's star player who just happens to be the older brother, and so on.
I'll start. Today we had a game against a team that lit us up for a 6-0 win last time we faced them. It was a very close game until mid-way through the third. It went from 2-1 to 5-1 in the space of about 3 minutes. We ended up putting in 2 late goals to make it 5-3. Fun game, too bad about the 3 quick goals, but two of them were questionable.
On their 4th goal, a high stick was missed by the ref. One of our players got it smack-dab in the mask. I realize that with a full face shield there's no injury, but that kind of reckless stick action needs to be discouraged (there's still the neck, ears and chin that must be protected. As it happens, less than a half-minute later they scored the back-breaking 4th goal. We could have been on a PP instead and, who knows, maybe make it a 3-2 game.
Next goal happened just after a delayed off-side. While the linesman's arm was still up (they hadn't cleared the zone) the other team shot the puck in and the goalie had to play it. I was too far away to see if it was a shot on goal, but I think it was. It definitely went through the crease, the goalie put the paddle down and deflected it into the corner.
I could have sworn that a shot on goal during a delayed off-side triggers the offside. Back in the day (before the NHL removed the touch-up offside rule) it used to be that the offside was called immediately if the puck went behind the goal line. I'm pretty sure that a shot on goal would also, immediately trigger the offside. The "puck behind the goal line" rule is no longer in place, but I believe they'll still call the offside if there is a shot on goal.
Anyhow, I checked with the ref after the game (after he stopped chatting it up with the other team's hot-dogging star player; no, this was not the 15-year-old ref but the older one). He could not tell me the rule immediately, but (and I've got to commend him on this) came into the dressing room a few minutes later and explained that, apparently, there is a rule which states that a shot on goal *during a delayed offside* is permissible, and play simply carries on just like it would if the other team simply shoots it in; in other words, the linesman's arm remains up, the other team is still expected to clear the zone, etc.
So, I asked the ref, it would be better for the goalie to let the puck go in rather than try to stop it, because a goal on a delayed offside certainly does not count. He agreed that the goal does not count, but also said that (pretty much a direct quote) "A younger referee may not know the rule and you'd be running the risk of him counting the goal as good."
This just sounds wrong.