Michallica wrote:Let's call a spade a spade. That first goal was absolutely terrible for anderson to give up and put the sens behind. he played decent after that but in the end the biggest save was made by borowiecki and not anderson.
As for the rest of the team, it was in shambles for the first two periods. I applaud cameron for the coaching moves in the 3rd period to jumpstart the comeback. There's still lots wrong with the group. No one at any position is really playing up to their capabilities. Goaltending has some work, forwards got some work, and defensive pairs got some major work.
I hate tatar sauce.
Also let's not forget the officiating. When I was listening on the radio and following on twitter they said something along the lines of, since Weircioch touched that puck first it negated the high sticking. But that makes no sense. From the replays Weircioch touched the puck with his stick (idiot, would have been much easier to bat it away with his glove) so that's an immediate high stick, which meansif he or another Sens player gets control the whistle goes. But the Detroit player's stick touched it right after that. Weircioch is 6'3" and it was above his shoulders, so don't try to tell me it may have been under the crossbar. If the puck goes in right after that, that's a high stick and no goal. If it lands on the ice and a Detroit player bangs it in, that play id immediately dead on the high stick. The only thing I'm not sure of is whether a Sens player could have played it, since it went from Weir's high stick onto the Detroit player's high stick.
The slashing on Chiasson is called -- I'm fine with that because he broke the guy's stick (if they want to change the rule so that it's not an automatic penalty but at the very least a stoppage in play I'd be fine with that, too, because some times those sticks break from a tap; but it's still a stick broken from *unnecessary* contact). What I'm not fine with is that Borowiecki was slashed hard enough that he immediately dropped the stick and went to the bench; no call!
And how about lifting an opponent's stick *before* he has a chance to take the puck -- is that not interference? I saw that on (I believe) the powerplay when one of the Sens players was about to be first on the puck and clear it, but the Detroit player lifted his stick from behind. If he had been carrying the puck and he lifted it to get the puck back -- I get it, that's a clean takeaway. But if the guy has not yet gotten the puck and he lifts his stick (or, frankly, touches him in any way that's not incidental contact) is that not interference?